My Epiphany and the Start of My Journey; the Obstacles and Getting Back on Track

Everyone seems to have an aha moment before they start their journey, and mine was at the doctors office this past August. I had managed to avoid making an appointment for the last four years.  In addition I had avoided the scale as well. (I was too heavy for the one we owned).  When I stepped on the scale in the Doctor’s office I saw a number I never imagined I could weigh.  It was there though, staring me in the face.I knew in that moment that something needed to change. I wasn’t the person I wanted to be anymore. I was angry, depressed, and didn’t want to do much of anything. It had gotten to the point where literally every meal that I ate was take out or delivery. The thing of it is nothing even tasted good anymore. I kept saying I’ll eat good tomorrow or I’ll exercise tomorrow, but then tomorrow had never came.

That very same week of my appointment  I started taking walks with my husband and our dog Johnny. I’ll never forget the first time I tried to walk a mile.  I cried…. I literally couldn’t do it.  I think I got about ¾ of a mile.  I was determined to be able to walk at least a mile and eventually got better at it. By October had lost 30 lbs.  My diet was still a problem though, while I was eating better it still wasn’t great.  One thing I have learned is you can’t out exercise a bad diet.  That fall with the encouragement of a friend at work I joined a gym.  The gym I joined was Snap Fitness. From the moment I walked in I was shown nothing but kindness. The people at my gym were friendly and encouraging and I never felt judged.

In November of 2014 my mom became very sick, so it derailed my fitness efforts. I managed to maintain my 30 lb loss, but didn’t lose further. For about a month I was driving 45 minutes to the hospital she was at 3-4 times a week.  Eventually she got well enough to go into a rehab facility so I tried to get back on track.  On January 13, 2015 my Dad passed away.  This is something you can’t prepare for and everyone goes through it differently. I am glad that he isn’t in pain anymore, but I miss him every day.  Once again I was off track.  Here is April and I’m trying to get back on track again. I feel like every time I start doing good I get derailed.

Now that you’re all caught up.  April 1st is when I really got back at it.  This is also the time I joined in on a challenge started by @stasia2point0 on Instagram.  The challenge is to do 30 minutes of activity everyday for 30 days.  If you skip a day you have to start over again on day 1.  After the 30 days you should reward yourself with something special.  I am currently on day 21 and doing awesome.  I haven’t restarted yet which is pretty unbelievable to me.  I also would like to note that I can now walk a mile with no problem, in fact I can do 3 with no issues.  I can likely even do more!  But I have yet to test that one.  Since April 1st I am also down 10 more pounds. Despite the obstacles I am not giving up.  I can and will do this!

Over the past month I have gained a lot followers on Instagram and a lot of interest on my Facebook.  Instagram is where I post daily updates, so feel free to follow me there. I thought this blog would be a great way to share my progress and what I’m doing to be healthy.  I’m looking forward to sharing my journey with all of you.  If you ever have any questions feel free to get in contact with me.

Till next time…

3 thoughts on “My Epiphany and the Start of My Journey; the Obstacles and Getting Back on Track

  1. Amie I’m so proud of you, your story is very touching and I just want you to know you’re my inspiration to get in shape and get healthy…as u know I just had a baby so I need to do this now and stop making excuses for myself…keep up the good work, you’re a beautiful person

    Like

  2. Thanks for that info Amie. Matt and I are going to try some. Matt has started going to the gym with his brother Ronnie. Doing the brotherly thing. By the way your looking good. Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a comment